Principal Investigator

Download CV (PDF)       Google Scholar

Heuristics (PDF)

Dr. Ghalichechian is an Associate Professor at the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology. He is the Director of the mmWave Antennas and Arrays Laboratory. His research focuses on mmWave phased arrays, reconfigurable antennas, reflect-arrays, transmit-arrays, on-chip antennas, phase-change materials, non-reciprocal microwave devices, high-power arrays, and mmWave measurement techniques.

Dr. Ghalichechian received his B.S. in Electrical Engineering from Amirkabir University of Technology (Tehran Polytechnic), Iran in 2001. He received his M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Maryland-College Park in 2005 and 2007, respectively. From 2007 to 2012, he was with the Research Department of Formfactor, Inc., Livermore, CA, as a Senior Principal Engineer. Dr. Ghalichechian joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the ElectroScience Laboratory at the Ohio State University (OSU) as a Research Scientist in 2012. From 2016 to 2017, he held a Research Assistant Professor position. He was a tenure-track Assistant Professor at OSU from 2017 to 2021. He joined the School of ECE at Georgia Institute of Technology as an Assistant Professor in August 2021. He became a tenured Associate Professor in 2024.

Prof. Ghalichechian is an active member of IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S). He is currently an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Antennas & Propagation. Previously, he was an Associate Editor of the IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters (2019-2022). He is currently an Associate Director of the Georgia Electronic Design Center (GEDC). He is the recipient of the 2024 Roger Webb Outstanding Junior Faculty Award, School of ECE, Georgia Institute of Technology, 2020 ECE Excellence in Teaching Award at OSU, 2019 NSF CAREER Award, 2019 US Air Force Faculty Summer Fellowship Award, and 2018 College of Engineering Lumley Research Award at OSU.

Distinctions & Awards

  • Roger Webb Outstanding Junior Faculty Award, School of ECE, Georgia Institute of Technology (2024)
  • Teaching Excellence Award, ECE Department, The Ohio State University (2020)
  • NSF CAREER Award (2019)
  • Air Force Research Laboratory Summer Faculty Fellowship Award (2019)
  • Lumley Research Award, The Ohio State University, College of Engineering (2018)
  • IEEE Senior Member (2014)
  • George Harhalakis Outstanding Systems Engineering Graduate Student Award, Institute for Systems Research, University of Maryland (2007)